Fine Girl

Yes, I’m a fine girl. I know it. Even if I see an ugly face every time I look into the mirror, all I need is to just study the behaviour of those around me —and realize that I am really “fine”.

But I’m tired. I’m tired. I’m tired of guys stopping me while I’m going somewhere, just to talk to this “fine girl “. Okay, I usually enjoy it, but I often end up wasting a lot of time and arriving for events late. All because I was talking with a guy.

I’m tired of guys coming to interrupt me while I’m studying my books. Don’t they understand that I have schoolwork to do, too?
I’m tired of forfeiting my privacy. Not being able to walk anywhere without a guy offering to walk me there. No longer having any alone time, all because I’m “fine “.

Sometimes I just wish I could walk by without guys ogling me. They don’t know I see them, but I do. The way their gazes linger on certain parts of my physique… It’s nothing short of annoying. I feel like…like an object, not a human.

And I’m tired of being forced to participate in twenty-minute phone calls. Sure, I enjoy some of them, but by the time I’m done, I realize that that was twenty minutes I could have used to tackle Laplace transforms. Or do some other useful things with my life.

I’m tired.

It’s not my fault that I’m pretty, but when are people going to learn to finally look beyond my face, my figure, my voice my clothes, my hairdo, and actually realize that there’s more to me than that?

If they really cared for me as a person, another of God’s creatures, they wouldn’t monopolize all my time or keep me from progressing in life.

I’m a fine girl, yes, but that’s not all there is to me.

2 responses to “Fine Girl

  1. Pingback: 2015 in review, 2016 coming up! | Shalvah's Blog·

Leave a Reply

