Blind

It is all I can do to remain seated. I watch with pity as the two young men shuffle toward the front, hands linked together. They have absolutely no sense of direction, no idea where they are headed. All they know is that they must get there. In spite of the uselessness of a certain part of their body, they continue to press on, marshalling all four of their remaining senses to help keep them on track.

The blind leading the blind, coming true before my eyes.

This was the scenario I found myself in at a recent event I attended. The ushers who were supposed to assist the visually impaired guests at the event were found to be lacking in number and ability—and perhaps compassion as well—when the time came for this, moving over 50 blind people to the stage. I realize now that I should have broken protocol and assisted, but then I felt rooted to the spot, praying all the time that none of them would stumble or collide with anyone.

I haven’t been able to put that scene, and a few others, out of my mind since then. The reality of blindness became even more real to me then. In mulling over it, I began to draw a few parallels between physical blindness and the blindness we suffer in our souls. I began to see how blind I truly was. In our spirits, we often suffer a blindness so deep only God can rescue us.
Blindness is horrible. Blindness is nasty. It limits us, handicaps us, fatigues us. But it also leaves us dependent on someone. The truth is, for as long as we are on earth, we will always have limited vision to some degree. Paul says in 1 Corinthians 13:12:
For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.
Blindness is not a part of God’s plan for us. 1 John 1:5-6 KJV says
This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth.

If we all (believers and unbelievers) could only understand the depth of the blindness we face if we continue as we are, we would all cry out, “God, open my eyes! Let me see!”  And while we make this our prayer, let us look to God to hold our hands and guide us.

One response to “Blind

  1. Pingback: 2015 in review, 2016 coming up! | Shalvah's Blog·

Leave a Reply

